Juggling life as a Mum, Learner Support and a Student!

Pre op yesterday

Right, yesterday I had my pre-op at The Spire hospital I have been very fortunate to be able to have my surgery at this private hospital as the surgeon only works here or another NHS hospital but the spire is closest to me!

I was terrified knowing I would be having blood took, so waiting in the plush comfy waiting room I grabbed a free latte – two bonuses of private hospital is the free car park and a free coffee machine with rather nice lattes!

Firstly I was took down with a nurse she explained to me in great detail what would happen today what struck me was just how nice she was she seemed genuinely interested in asking me what I do and how I am and actually listened! And she told me a bit about her and I was put at ease instantly having a gossip! That must again be a perk of private they didn’t seem concerned to get the job done and get me out asap, there was no rush at all. So a lay on a bed and was attached to loads of wires and had an ECG thankfully my heart is great so no probs there, then she took my blood which was actually not bad at all! I had my blood pressure taken then a bit more gossip.

The she took me to see the anaesthetist and again she was lovely to explained exactly what would happen on the day and how getting knocked out has changed over the years etc and told me roughly what to expect after the op, she told me in a private hospital the success rates are much higher as they only have the best surgeons and the best anaesthtists and no juniors at all which i liked to hear! She then took me to physio where I again met another lovely lady!

At physio she showed me how to log roll

log roll

I’ve put a link on to from YouTube to show this it is a great way to get in and out of bed with little pressure on your spine, she said she always uses this and advises to start now and do it forever!
First time I’ve done a video link hope it works!

She basically told me what to do after the op, the physio will ensure I can walk up and down stairs and get out of bed safely before I can go home, she told me that for first two weeks I must rest a lot, she said before Mrsa was a problem I would have been in hospital for 2 weeks recovery but now it’s better to be at home (that’s if I can resist not doing anything!)

So I was there for 2 hours and I’ve came out very positive and ready for the op next sat (24th) I’m dreading coming home as I’m going to struggle not been able to do anything, I’m literally allowed to dress myself, shower myself and make a cup of tea but only with enough water in for one cup I can’t wash, cook, clean, iron, Hoover, lift pans, sweep the floor everything! Which is going to be extremely difficult I’ve been very very sore today from yesterday and its drive me mad I can’t even stand to wash up!

But the end is near!
And Twilight in sat woohoo!

Leave a Reply

